Transferring an existing domain entails changing the domain name registrar that provides the domain registration service, so after the transfer, you’ll have to manage things like renewal payments or DNS entry modifications through the new domain name registrar. The transfer procedure is standard with most TLD extensions. Some country-code extensions are more specific and involve different procedures, but in the general case transferring a domain name involves several basic steps and one of them is unlocking the domain. The domain lock is a security feature, which is being embraced by more and more domain name registry organizations. It is a standard feature supported by all generic top-level domain names. If a domain name is locked, it will not be possible to start a transfer procedure, so nobody can even try to take your domain name. The lock can be removed only through the account where the domain name is registered and all new domain names that support this feature are locked by default when they are registered.
Registrar Lock in Shared Hosting
If you get a shared hosting from our company, you will be able to administer all domains registered through us via our Hepsia hosting Control Panel and you’ll be able to unlock any of them with just a few mouse clicks. All registrations will be listed in alphabetical order in the Domain Manager section of the hosting Control Panel and for each one of them you will see a tiny padlock icon. Clicking it will show you the present security lock status. If the domain is locked and you would like to transfer it away, you’ll just need to click once again and you will be all set. Locking a domain is just as easy and since the domain names are managed in the very same location as the hosting account itself, you will not have to log in and out of different interfaces.